• BI Blog
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Athens State Board of Trustees

  • Sheffield, Ala. – Wednesday, September 26– Bank Independent President Macke Mauldin was appointed by Gov. Robert Bentley to the first Athens State University board of trustees on Friday, September 21, 2012.

    “It’s a great honor to be appointed to the Athens State board of trustees,” shares Bank Independent President Macke Maudlin. “It’s a privilege to be among some of Alabama’s greatest leaders and business men and women chosen for this board.” 
    As a business man, civic leader and family man, Macke’s experience professionally and personally will play a vital role in helping shape the vision of Athens State University. Macke has served as President of Bank Independent since 1996 and was named Shoals Citizen of the Year in 2008. He serves as Chairman of the Shoals Economic Development Authority, the Board Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta (Birmingham Branch) and the Director of the Southern Development Council. 
     “I understand the importance of the board of trustees as someone who has served on both sides,” Macke adds. “As president of Bank Independent, I rely on the Bank Independent Board of Trustees for guidance and support. As a board member for Athens State, I will also be there to guide and support their leaders to ensure future growth and success for the college and for the community.” 
    Macke’s deep commitment to his Bank Independent family of 450 employees shows as Bank Independent continues to succeed and grow. Macke’s leadership has led to the bank’s stellar reputation for strength stability and profitability, as well as its growth throughout northwest Alabama. With a presence in Athens since 2006, Bank Independent has continued to impact Limestone County economically and also develop relationships with the people in the community.  
    “I have a deep respect for Athens State University, as well as the people in Athens and the surrounding communities,” Macke explains. “We’ve had a presence in Athens for over six years now, and I have a vested interest in the well-being of current and future students. I will continue to strive for excellence in my efforts and decisions for the board and for this community.” 

    Macke is among eight appointments named to the board of trustees to Athens State University. Other appointed board members include Sen. Arthur Orr, Mary C. Dickens, Garth Lovvorn, Maxine Randolph, Clint Shelton, Tazewell T. Shepard and Sandra Sims-deGraffenried.  




You've clicked a link that is not part of the Bank Independent website. Bank Independent is not responsible for the content you may encounter as a result of visiting this link. 

If you wish to proceed to this website, please click CONTINUE below. If you do not wish to visit this link, click CANCEL to return to your original page.

Continue Continue
Cancel Cancel